Lately I’ve been craving the comforts of my mom’s pozole but since I don’t partake in beef or pork, I needed to modify this dish a bit. The broth, hominy and toppings have always been my favorite parts anyway so I made a very simple version that only took about 10 minutes to throw together. It turned out freakin delicious so I had to share. Oh, as an added bonus, I unintentionally acquired every single ingredient for this recipe at the 99 cents only store. SCORE.

You’ll need:

A big 2 lb can on hominy (drained)

A 10 oz can of chile colorado sauce aka “red chile sauce” (you’ll be tempted to reach for the red enchilada sauce or a tomato-based sauce – DON’T DO IT) I used Las Palmas brand, spicy level: medium

1 vegetable soup bouillon cube AND 1 vegetarian “chicken” bouillon cube.

2 Dried California Chiles with stem attached (you may sub w/ Ancho, Pasilla or New Mexico chiles – they’re pretty much the same)

1 teaspoon onion powder

1/2 teaspoon thyme

1/2 teaspoon oregano (use mexican oregano if available)

1 big pinch of dried cumin

2 large garlic cloves

1 bay leaf

4 Tablespoons of olive oil

While you do your chopping/prepping, submerge your dried chiles in hot water to give them a head start.

Over medium heat, pour your olive oil into a large pot and grate your garlic cloves into the oil. let the hot oil extract the yummy garlic flava but don’t walk away for too long because garlic burns fast. During the time it takes you to open the can of hominy and chile sauce, the garlic fragrance should be all up in your nose, telling you it’s ready. Dump your drained can of hominy into the pot and add your chiles along with the water they’ve been soaking in. You want the water level to be about 3-4 inches above the hominy so add more water accordingly.

Turn the heat up to high and add 1/2 the can of red chile sauce along with all of your bouillon and dry spices. Mix and bring to a boil. Once it’s boiling, cover and simmer for 20-30 min. You’ll start to see some of the hominy kernels split and flower when it’s ready (mmmmm my favorite).


While the soup cooks, chop any or all of the following garnishes:

-cabbage
-lime wedges (this one is a MUST. No ifs and or buts about it.)
-radishes
-onion
-dry oregano (no chopping required)
-fresh cilantro

Serve and garnish with all of the above. I usually squeeze 3 lime wedges into my bowl because I like it extra….limey. You probably won’t need salt because the bouillon has plenty of salt in it and the lime adds a salty tang to it as well. If it’s not red enough for you, just add more of the chile sauce. Oh yeah, fish out the bay leaf and the chiles at the end. The result is a nice contrast between the spicy broth, the toothsomeness (I dunno if that’s a real word) of the hominy, and the freshness of the crunchy toppings. I think I’m gonna go have another bowl…
Enjoy!

