Creepers. You either love them or you hate them. I personally love them. I had a pair of low, pointy ones (a-la Ducky in Pretty in Pink) in the 80’s when I was about 10 yrs old. I also had a pair of high, leopard print ones in the early 90’s. I used to love wearing them with ruffled socks and really short skirts (SHHH it looked cute OKAAAY).

Fast forward 10 years into the future. OK more like 15 years. My short skirt-wearing days are definitely OVER but does that mean my creeper-wearing days are also over? Let’s examine the situation…

Creepers re-emerging on the runway. This could make them widely acceptable, right?

Prada's Spring 2011 collection featured a line of creepers. I'd totally lick those shoes.

Our Lady GaGalupe was seen wearing them in her Judas video. Of course hers are gigantic and ridiculous.

It’s safe to say that creepers are back but I can’t help wondering if this will end in regret, similar to my Dr. Marten fiasco. Oh yeah, I didn’t tell you guys about that. A few months ago I ordered a pair of 20-hole docs in grey. They arrived, I unpacked them and they were just as gorgeous as the ones I had when I was 15. I thought I was re-living my youth UNTIL I put them on. It was like that scene in Back To The Future where Michael J Fox kisses his mom and it just feels TOTALLY WRONG. I couldn’t even explain why, so I returned them and thought maybe this was a sign of an early mid-life crisis.

This is the coveted shoe.

So the question remains. To creep or not? I guess there’s only one way to find out. Thanks for listening.

Signed,

Old and confused.

xoxo

