Halloween has come and gone but the festivities aren’t over yet! Today is the last day of the Dia De Los Muertos (Day of the dead) holiday.  The name may sound a bit morbid but this holiday is meant to celebrate the lives of friends, family and pets who have crossed over to the “other side”. November 1st honors children and pets, whereas adults are honored on November 2nd.

I put together a little makeshift altar on our fireplace mantle with a few Halloween candy offerings and some sugar skulls that I’ve collected over the years. Since I don’t know of any decent bakeries in my neighborhood that sell pan de muerto (bread of the dead), I’m going to bake some Mexican-style pumpkin empanadas.

If you have somebody to celebrate, simply light a candle, place their favorite treat next to their photo and take a moment to remember the good times.

Feliz Dia De Los Muertos!

P.S. In case you were wondering, the bust on the far-left is Edgar Allan Poe

