Somebody once compared pizza to a massage, stating that “There’s no such thing as a bad one”. While I agree with this, I do have my preferences. For instance, I love a thin crust with a slight sweetness to it. I also like pizzas that don’t require a traditional, heartburn-inducing tomato sauce. I enjoy a little semolina flour coating the under-side of the crust. Don’t even get me started on toppings…

Photo by: Agent D

While visiting my sister, she bravely suggested making pizza dough from scratch. If you’re anything like me, you’d be intimidated by the idea, then proceed to buy a pre-made boboli crust. Top it. Bake it. Eat it. For shame! It was time for me to witness some real pizza-making. She used this recipe from Jamie Oliver’s Italian cook book, which turned out to be one of the best tasting crusts I’ve ever had. Like, ever.

We made a couple of varieties but my personal favorite was our take on a combo served at a gourmet pizza chain (cough-CPK-cough). Thinly sliced Pear / Caramelized Onion / Fig / Gorgonzola / Arugula. Yes, all of that on 1 pizza. It was SO GOOD. I mean, just look at it.

Photo by: Agent D

Simply glorious. Later on, my sister and I returned from a night of dancing with one thing on our minds – devour some left-over pizza! Midnight munchies never tasted so good. Thank you, Jamie Oliver.

P.S. Be sure to sign Jamie’s Food Revolution petition to improve nutrition in American schools and teach kids cooking skills for survival. It’s important.

