My childhood exposure to kale was dining with my parents at a restaurant where it was being used as plate garnish. I never thought it was edible and I definitely didn’t know it was packed with vitamins, antioxidants, phytonutrients and a few other healthy 5-syllable words. Today I decided to experiment with “The king of greens”. I was a little reluctant to eat raw kale because it seemed so much tougher than the salad greens I’m used to but I’m happy to report that I was deliciously wrong.

Photo by: Agent D

I combined a few different salad recipes to make the nom-nom goodness pictured above.

Raw Kale Salad: (Serves 6-8 side dish portions OR 2-4 full meal portions)

1 head of kale, removed from the stem and chopped (you can save the stems for making veggie broth)
1/2 of a red onion, thinly sliced
1/2 can of chickpeas
1/2 cup of cooked quinoa
1 cup chopped red pepper (I didn’t have peppers today so I used 1 cup of cooked asparagus but anything goes)

Dressing:
1/4 cup lemon juice
1/4 cup olive oil
1/4 cup red wine vinegar
1/2 tsp. dijon or brown mustard
Salt and Pepper to taste.

Chop and combine the veggies and quinoa in a large bowl. Whisk salad dressing ingredients right before pouring it over the salad and toss. You can eat it right away OR you can let it sit overnight. Nice thing about kale salad is that you can toss & store for 3 days! Unlike regular salads, this won’t wilt and actually builds more flavor the longer it sits so it’s perfect for preparing in advance and transporting.

If you plan on trying this, do it before the end of spring because raw summer kale can be a little on the bitter side. Enjoy!

