We’re only a couple of days away from Thanksgiving. How did we get here so fast? Honestly, I find myself saying that every year because it’s that holiday that creeps up on me while I’m still in the midst of post-Halloween blues. One thing that always helps cure the blues is seeing my absolute favorite Fall veggie in the produce section – Brussels sprouts! Without further ado, here’s my recipe for Savory & Sweet Caramelized Sprouts…

Ingredients:

1 lb Brussels sprouts
2 1/2 Tablespoons of virgin coconut oil
1 cube of veggie bouillon
1/2 cup of water
A splash of apple cider vinegar (I’m guessing I used about 2 T or so)
2 Tablespoons of agave nectar
2 large garlic cloves
1 teaspoon of onion powder (be sure not to use onion salt)

so much hippie in this picture

Warm the coconut oil in your skillet on low while you clean your sprouts by peeling away any yucky leaves and cutting off the stems. Cut each sprout in half, length-wise with the nub intact, otherwise they’ll fall apart. Chop garlic into very thin slices and when I say “thin”, I mean Goodfellas thin. Ok, don’t use an actual razor blade but go as thin as you can! Put the garlic in the coconut oil and watch it closely – I MEAN IT. Don’t walk away or get distracted because charred garlic will ruin this dish, or any dish for that matter.

When the garlic starts to brown and fill the room with its delicious aroma, take it out of the pan and reserve it for later. Turn the heat up to medium and put the sprouts into the skillet, cut side down. Let them cook until they start to smell nutty and turn a vibrant green (about 5 min.)

Use a pair of tongs to turn a few sprouts, checking to see it any browning is happening but don’t flip ‘em yet. Once you see some browning, add 1/2 cup of water and crumble the whole bouillon cube into the water, THEN flip the sprouts over. Sprinkle 1 teaspoon of onion powder over everything and cover with a lid.

Set your timer for 5 minutes and take a few sips of wine, play on your phone for a bit, ponder life’s questions, be annoyed by the excessive number of x-mas commercials on TV, etc…

Once 5 minutes are up, uncover the skillet and let any remaining water cook off. Add your splash of apple cider vinegar and 2 tablespoons of agave nectar, then toss everything around in the pan to coat the sprouts with deliciousness.

please note the extra dark bit on the lower right  *drool*

You’ll notice that some parts of the sprouts will darken very quickly at this point so turn the heat off and let the residual heat finish caramelizing everything. This is especially important if you’re using a cast iron skillet since they stay hot long after the flame has been turned off.¬†This is where you can opt to reincorporate the garlic back into the pan if you like things extra garlicky like I do. Taste a sprout and see if they’re salty enough for you. I find that the bouillon cube adds just enough salt but sometimes when I’m feeling WILD & CRAZY, I’ll add a dash of vegetarian bacon salt at the very end. I like to live on the edge, you see.

Behold! Brussels sprouts that will turn just about any sprout hater into a sprout addict. I’ve seen it happen with my own eyes and it has become an Autumn staple around here. I hope you guys love this recipe as much as I do :)

Happy Thanksgiving, errbody!

P.S. In case you find yourself wondering what kind of weird stove I’m working on – It’s this mid-century beast with a burner drawer that you pull out of the wall, then you push the burners back in to hide them once you’re done cooking. So Mad Men :)

